Oatmeal Rolls Trial 2

I decided to make some oatmeal rolls but this time using regular all-purpose flour. I did make some tweaks to the recipe. I decided to have a little fun with the recipe and I played around with the amount of yeast used and I imagined what I could do to make them different.

First off, the yeast worked PERFECTLY! I have figured out how to use yeast and I LOVE it! I get all giddy now when my yeast works and I’ve been trying to think of all the different kinds of recipes I could make with yeast! It’s been wonderful! Truly a stress reliever, except when the kids are awake still….I have discovered that I am a bit of perfectionist when it comes to baking. I guess it is more of when I am experimenting with a new recipe and I want to know that it will work out before I have the kids mess with it. Cause heaven only knows all that they do under my nose! (While I was making these rolls, our two oldest children were watching me and our youngest son decided it was okay to start playing with daddy’s lap top and he messed with my screen so instead of the window looking normal it was on its side and I had NO IDEA how to change it! Of course, our youngest son isn’t even two yet and he couldn’t tell me what he did. Luckily, I have an awesome wife that understands technology better than I do and she fixed it for me!)

At any rate, I did allow the kids to “help” me knead the dough and they LOVED it!

img_8679

However, once they noticed that their hands were going to be all sticky and icky, they didn’t like it so much! haha

Eventually, I would love to have it be so that the kids can help me make various recipes and they learn how to make them too…however, that time will come and it may be slow, but it will come. They really do love to help and they get upset when I just want to do something on my own. But Whitney and I were talking about possibly having the kids decorate mini cakes because I had made some cinnamon rolls, to come in a future post, and the kids were decorating the cinnamon rolls! HAHA it was pretty funny cause they were using cereal, but they were having fun!

With this batch of Oatmeal Rolls, I noticed that the dough was stickier than the last. Which I found interesting. You can read about the first time I made this recipe here: Oatmeal Dinner Rolls. With that trial, I made it with Gluten Free All – Purpose flour and my main issue was the yeast did not work before I started making the rolls. I didn’t make sure that the yeast was activated and therefore, the entire thing was doomed. But the rolls weren’t super sticky and I used less flour too.

img_8680

This time was a bit surprising. I had to use more flour, but the yeast worked PERFECTLY this time! I find it interesting that the different flours are THAT different when before in other recipes I could use this particular gluten free flour in place of the normal all purpose flour and it would come out perfect.

img_8681

It was still a bit sticky after it rose for any hour but I beat it down and separated it into separate balls of dough.

img_8683

img_8682

I was just super excited about these rolls. Once they came out of the oven I knew that it worked! The rolls were brown on top. They looked fluffy and they were fluffy. I did discover that overall they are a dense roll but not as dense as trial 1!

I’m excited to experiment a little with these rolls. Whitney and I have some ideas….we’ll share them over with time! 😉 Once we figure out exactly what we’d like to do with them.

I hope you all have a great day and don’t forget to share this post and leave a comment!

Happy Monday!

 

img_8685

Leave a Reply

