Cinnamon Rolls

So because of my last post, which can be found here. I decided to make cinnamon rolls. It could be said that I had a slight fetish with cinnamon. I used the white bread recipe from this post. Once the dough rose, I split the dough and rolled it into a rectangle type shape.img_8686-copy

Then I added cinnamon, sugar, ground nutmeg, and ground ginger to the flattened dough. Once that was completed I rolled the dough to make a loaf of Cinnamon Bread, but instead of putting it in a loaf pan I cut up the dough to make cinnamon rolls. One loaf made roughly 7 cinnamon rolls. img_8687

Don’t they look cool? Maybe I’m biased a little bit because I made them and I think it’s cool! I baked them in the oven at 350 degrees farenheit for 30 minutes and then I let them cool a bit before I used some cream cheese frosting that we had. Let me tell you, it probably wasn’t the best decision I’ve made in my life…img_8692

I only say that because when the frosting was all cooled and such, it was kinda rubbery….yes it was pre-made and no it was not made by me. We bought it and I thought it was a good purchase…yes I THOUGHT it was a good purchase. Luckily, it wasn’t expensive. But the kids really didn’t like these rolls for a couple reasons. 1. The frosting. 2. Too much cinnamon….again….(I made these the same day I made the cinnamon bread. Let’s just say I learned my lesson with the cinnamon and I have some ideas on how to make them taste better.)

I decided I wanted to make cinnamon rolls because in my family we would have cinnamon rolls or doughnuts on Sunday mornings and I have always thought that it was a fun Sunday breakfast. I had never made them, on my own before and I thought it would be a fun adventure. Little did I know it would be a bigger adventure and that my main problems would be the frosting and the cinnamon….I always thought it would be the yeast. But I did figure out the yeast problem so that is now just an automatic success now!

Whitney is excited for me to make more cinnamon rolls but if they taste like this, she probably won’t be so excited. The kids I think liked the fact that there was something for them with white stuff on top that they could carry around….but they really didn’t eat it….Sadly, another disappointment. But that is okay because with all these disappointments make fantastic success stories that feel really good!

Leave a Reply

