Lasagna

This is a belated Valentine’s post….

Valentine’s day is always an interesting day for my wife and I. We have never had much money to spend on anything and we hadn’t had any Valentine’s days where my wife wasn’t either pregnant or we didn’t have kids around. I am okay with that because I wouldn’t trade my kids for the world! But because of these obstacles, we’ve become a little creative.

Usually, we get a Papa Murphy’s pizza that is in the shape of a heart and call it good. It is our “fancy” dinner. But this year, I forgot about that tradition that we had started until we were already sitting down and eating dinner. Instead I made some lasagna. This is more of “our family” recipe rather than an ancestral recipe.

Either way, it was yummy and delicious.

I sadly forgot to take more pictures so I have a couple. But hey, this blog thing is new to me and we are just on this learning curve!

Essentially, I found some “oven ready” lasagna noodles. I thought that was just too legit to quit because it was going to save me some time!

I fried some hamburger, about a pound. I set that aside and I mixed 32 ounces of ricotta cheese, a cup of mozzarella cheese, 2 eggs and a teaspoon of our own garden grown, dehydrated basil. This stayed in one bowl.

In another bowl I put a 24 ounce jar of pasta sauce with a cup of water and the hamburger. I mixed that together as well. I was then ready to get this lasagna going.

In a 9X13 pan, I put a layer of the meat sauce on the bottom of the pan. I then put about 5 noodles down on the pan, it was enough to cover the bottom and the fifth noodle I had to break to fit. I then put the ricotta mixture on top of the noodles. Once I got to this point, I repeated the process. On the top, I added a cup of mozzarella cheese and I was good to go!

lasagna

I covered the lasagna in tin foil, twice. I found that it really helped keep the noodles from becoming crispy but it helped the lasagna thoroughly bake.

I preheated the oven to 425 degrees Farenheit. I baked the lasagna for 60 minutes and I let it stand outside of the oven for about 10 to 15 minutes before I got the family together to eat.

We ate one our “new” table which has been a blessing for our family! We love this new table because it is big enough to allow us all to sit at the table as a family and enjoy a nice meal.

table

My kids loved the lasagna and asked for seconds which was nice. It also allowed me to put the left overs in containers for lunches for week.

It has been a nice meal and I anticipate making another pan as a freezer meal to have prepared and ready to go for when we need something cooked for dinner and we don’t want to cook anything. We could potentially pull this out of freezer and put it in the oven and relax while it cooks!

What meal did you have for Valentine’s Day?

Leave a Reply

