Yakisoba

There was a night this past week where I just didn’t want to make anything for dinner so I turned to my Facebook friends. Many of my awesome friends had shared some pretty neat ideas that I hadn’t thought of before. One of them is this recipe of Yakisoba. I have been told that it is made in the army and I thought I would share this recipe because I have ancestors that served in the military over many generations.

My paternal grandfather served in the army during World War II. He served in the Pacific and was wounded twice in the Philippines. My paternal grandmother also served in the arm during World War II as a nurse. She was a higher rank than my grandfather and that was a little joke between the two of them throughout their lives. She was a 1st Lieutenant. She served in Northern Africa and in Europe and was relatively close to combat for a short period of her service.

 

leaving-for-italy
My paternal grandmother is in the upper right hand corner of the picture. This is the trip as they were boarding a ship to invade Italy.

 

Henry Boyd Teig
My paternal grandfather when he was a young boy.

I have many other relatives that also served in the Vietnam War, Korean War, Civil War, World War I and probably the Revolutionary War too…but I haven’t done enough research that far back yet. 🙂

At any rate, Yakisoba is made with spaghetti noodles. I boiled the noodles and I added salt to the water.

IMG_8927

I then reheated hamburger that I had already browned the hamburger but I needed to heat it up. I then added some frozen broccoli, some soy sauce, ginger powder, salt and pepper.  The recipe was a bit spicy for the kids so they didn’t eat much but I thought it was perfect!

IMG_8928

Yakisoba

Ingredients:

1 package of spaghetti noodles

1 pound of hamburger; browned

1 tsp – 1 tbsp of ginger powder (depends on how spicy you would like it)

1-2 tablespoons of soy sauce; to taste

1 package of frozen broccoli (you may choose the type of vegetable that you would prefer but that is what we had on hand)

1 tsp salt (I used pink Himalayan salt.)

1 tsp pepper; to taste

 

Instructions:

  1. Fill a pot with water. Turn on the burner and wait for the water to come to a rolling boil.
  2. Once the water is boiling, put the noodles into the water. Make sure to stir the noodles every once in awhile so the noodles don’t stick together and they don’t stick to the bottom.
  3. While the noodles are cooking, put the hamburger in another pot to brown.
  4. Once the hamburger is browned, add the ginger, soy sauce, broccoli, salt and pepper.
  5. Once the noodles are done cooking, drain the noodles and put them back in the pot that they were cooked in and mix the hamburger mixture with the noodles.
  6. Once everything is mixed thoroughly, serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

